Unhappy News

I know a lot of you have been waiting for the epilogue to Backstage Pass. If you’ve been paying attention, you know that I was waiting for final approval (due to contractual obligations with my publisher–see “competing works clause”) before I could publish it. You also know how much work I put into it–time, effort, my own money. Well, I have some unhappy news…

It might never be available. I don’t know for sure what will happen with it in the future. I do know that I don’t want to jeopardize the publication of the rest of my Sinners books by rebelling and publishing Appetite any way. I can’t go against this decision without possible negative consequences, so for now, I’m tucking my tail between my legs and retreating. Do I like it? What do you think?

I can’t post bad news without countering it with some potentially good news. I will soon be venturing into the realm of self-publishing with a new band. That will give me the freedom to do whatever I want with my creative work and my characters. These guys won’t be our Sinners, but they’ll be awesome. I promise. As soon as I finish Trey’s book (under contract), we’ll have some fun together designing perfect rock stars for some new books. Some self-published books.

I’m sorry to disappoint you all. I want you to know that my agent did fight for Appetite on my behalf and yours, but sometimes you have to know when to fold and try to see the big picture. The big picture is making sure you get the rest of the Sinners books. I decided that would be more important in the long run.

I hope someday you’ll be able to read Appetite for Seduction. It really is a beautiful celebration of Brian and Myrna’s love.