Jimmy “The Rev” Sullivan Can’t Be Gone

When I heard the drummer of Avenged Sevenfold, known by most as The Rev, died yesterday, I was stunned. Stunned in that ‘soul separates from the body and floats to the ceiling’ kind of stunned. That can’t be right. It can’t be. After the initial denial, I sought the details on CNN, visited the band’s website, read the message the band left there with a sinking feeling in the pit of my stomach, and I guess I have to accept it. The Rev is gone. I kept hoping that there was some mistake.

It’s no secret that Avenged Sevenfold is one of my favorite bands. I’ve seen them in concert twice. They put on an amazing show. My iPod is filled with their songs. “Waking the Fallen” and “City of Evil” are two of my all time favorite albums and I am so looking forward to their next one. They even inspired my novels to an extent. It was at their concert that I got the idea for the Sinners on Tour series.

The Rev was an integral part of the band. Avenged Sevenfold may replace their drummer and continue making music, but they’ll never replace The Rev. He was amazing. Amazing. Such raw, unquenchable talent. I can’t believe he’s gone. I just can’t get my head around it. My heart? My heart knows. And it aches.

I’m still shocked, but currently oscillating between grief and anger. He was too young. Twenty-eight is too young. I’m so sad for his family and friends. His band. His fans, myself included. I listen to him almost every day and marvel at his skill on the drums. To think he’ll never drum again. It’s just sad. It breaks my heart.

I’m also angry. That someone with so much talent was taken. His cause of death hasn’t been released yet, but if it was drugs that took him (as many are speculating), it just seems so senseless to me. How could you throw your life away, your talent, your gift, everyone who loves you – just throw it all away – to get high? Such a waste. A tragic, stupid waste. The very idea makes me so angry I can’t see straight. And disappointed. I feel so let down.

And now I’m going to go listen to “And All Things Will End” on a loop. And cry. And wish this had never happened.

You will be missed Jimmy Sullivan. And remembered. Always. I’m going to dedicate my fourth novel to you.

Rest in peace.