Olivia’s One Track Mind is Buried Alive

So where is Olivia’s one track mind this week?

Today I’m taking a little break from my Backstage Pass launch date countdown (22 more days, if you’re wondering), and sharing the music track that’s been in my head for over a week.  It has quickly become my favorite song and while at times it’s annoying to have the same song stuck in your one track mind, I’m not complaining about this one.

Avenged Sevenfold’s most recent album, Nightmare was released over a month ago and has been in a continuous play cycle in my car’s CD player ever since.  While I like/love all of the tracks, Buried Alive emerged as my favorite.  I love that it’s like getting two awesome songs in one.  It starts out very melodic and about halfway through, it picks up and rocks.  It rocks hard.

Maybe you know that Avenged Sevenfold lost their drummer, The Rev, just after Christmas last year.  Because of that, Mike Portnoy, Dream Theater’s drummer, plays drums on their newest album, Nightmare.  Yesterday, Mike Portnoy announced that he’s leaving Dream Theater to work on some other projects.  Read about it on his facebook page here.  Wow.  I, for one, was shocked that Dream Theater refused to give him the hiatus he wanted and instead thought it a good idea to replace him.  It’s NEVER a good idea to replace Mike Portnoy.  Hello!  He’s an amazing musician.  I do wonder if this means he’ll be signing on as Avenged Sevenfold’s drummer permanently.  I guess we’ll find out.  Mike did a phenomenal job playing with Avenged Sevenfold on their UPROAR tour.  Not that I was surprised, or anything.