A Little Update

I apologize. I’ve been really bad about blogging lately. I’ll blame it on my day job. It really does eat up most of my time. I’m also not sure what to do with myself now that my kid is off at college. I need to find more structure in my evenings. Something productive to do. I don’t feel like doing anything but vegetating in front of the TV with a cat on my lap. I watched eight episodes of House Hunters last night and yelled at the TV when they didn’t pick the house I liked. What a waste of my life. Anyway, enough about my boring existence…

I have been writing. Not as much as I’d hoped to write, but I am almost done with Twice Upon a Time— second in the Lovers’ Leap serial series. I really want to finish it this weekend because NaNoWriMo starts Tuesday and I will be diving into a different novel, Rebellion. For those of you not in “the know”, NaNoWriMo stands for National Novel Writing Month. It’s where a bunch of overachieving, competitive people (that would include moi) write 50,000 words of a novel in a single month and commiserate with other overachievers because they aren’t achieving half of what they thought they would. Of course, you always have those writer “friends” who write 100,000 words instead of a measly 50,000. Those “friends” make me punch kittens. (not really…)

I’m almost done reworking Jace’s book. It didn’t need that many changes, really. It depresses me that it would have been released earlier this month (yes, the original release date was October 2011) if I’d have been allowed to revise it when I first turned it in. Yeah, I’m a little (lot) bitter about that. I try to curtail that publicly, but it ain’t working for me. I am having quite a pity party for myself. Anyway, you might catch me lamenting on Facebook if you’re a fan of my author page. I have a new mantra, “Accept the things you cannot change and change the things you can.” I just have to accept this bullcrap (it isn’t going to change because I want it to), so I should just let it go, right? Right. Moving on.

I wrote a paranormal short story for an erotic anthology. It’s about the sire of the lead vampire, who is also a succubus. She’s a secondary character in another of the novels I’ve yet to complete: Seduced by Eternity. This is like a prequel of sorts. When I find out more about dates and covers and if my story will actually be in the anthology, I’ll post it here. Specific details are sketchy at this point.

There are only three days left in the 99¢ ebook promotion for Defying Destiny on Kindle and Nook and at Smashwords. I’m also having a giveaway on Olivia Downing’s blog for a hardcopy of the book. To enter just head over to this blog post and leave a comment for a chance to win. It’s open to US and international winners. It ends Sunday, October 30th, so enter today. Happy Halloween!

I’m starting to think of songs for Trey’s playlist, even though the book isn’t coming out for like a year (still no release date). So far, I’ve come up with Second Chance by Shinedown. Leaving parents behind isn’t what the book is about, but it is important that he leaves someone else behind and that decision does give Trey a second chance, so I think it fits well. Plus I love this song.

 

I plan to post the first chapter of Twice Upon a Time sometime in the coming week, so watch for it.

Happy Friday!