Fornicating with Our King

First of all just let me say “BOO, thumbs down” to Nebraskan radio stations for censoring the word fornicating. Really, people? Really? You let the word bitch slide through as acceptable, but not fornicating? What the fuck? Garbling that word makes this amazing song sound like shit. I hate censoring.

Just had to get that off my chest. Getting on with my life now.

I’m probably about to leave for my road trip to Texas right about now. Galveston or bust! Considering I’ll be driving through tornado alley, I might want to rethink that sentiment. Galveston or gust!

So… I’m scheduling this post on Saturday, so I don’t forget Music Monday this week.

Anyway, I wanted to share the song that got me excited about metal again. And since the first time I heard it (it’s the solo. Synyster Gates. Gah! The way he plays a guitar. Gah! sorry, lost my train of thought. um…. oh yeah…) and since the first time I heard this song, I’ve devoured every bit of metal music I can get my ears on. There was a time in the mid-90s to the early 2000s that I didn’t listen to much music. I’m not sure what my deal was. There were some good bands. I just never discovered them until more recently. Anyway, thank you Avenged Sevenfold for making me a gushing fan girl again. And thank you Synyster Gates for making that guitar your bitch. She likes it. So do I.

Now the reason why I heard this song is a bit unusual. My son is AMAZING at the video game Guitar Hero. He can beat every song on expert with full combo (meaning no mistakes) except the solo for Beast and the Harlot. Much frustration ensued. My admiration for Gates increased exponentially. Heck, I can scarcely get through a Guitar Hero song on medium difficulty. Nice to see my overconfident, tournament-winning kid knocked down a peg or two.

You’d think Beast and the Harlot would be my fave solo of all time. Nope. It’s actually the solo in Bat Country. I have it as my ring tone as a matter of fact.

Hope you enjoyed two of my fave songs. From one of my fave bands. See you soon!