Music Monday – Untraveled Road

Hey strangers!

I’ve been meaning to do a blog post for a while now. I’m trying to spend less time online and more time writing. Mixed results there. Insider is coming along nicely, but I’m still not finished with it. I am getting close though. This has been a challenging book to write from the beginning. I hope it doesn’t suck big wind when it’s finished.

Anyway, I’m here to post about music, but we need a bit of background information first. Not really. I just like to hear myself talk… I was very excited to move back to my hometown for a lot of reasons. One of them was because there is (was) a fantastic hard rock station called The Grizz. Finally, I could listen to my preferred genre on the radio whenever I got in the car. And then, on January 1st, they changed genres without any prior warning to classic rock. Don’t get me wrong, I enjoy classic rock on occasion (I feel like I’m riding with my dad, but we can all use a bit of nostalgia now and then). But there are already three amazing classic rock stations in the area and there are now ZERO modern hard rock stations.

So now I’m stuck with Sirius Octane. Which is great. If your car has satellite radio. My 2005 PT Cruiser did not. So I decided I would buy a new car. The PT has been with me through a lot, but I wanted something a little sportier that had Bluetooth capability and satellite radio. So what did I buy?

A 2015 Dodge Challenger SXT Plus with a V8 HEMI. It is the most bad ass car I’ve ever sat in, much less driven. So of course, I had to buy it.

image

image

Oh my! She flies. And purrs. If you’ve never driven one, you can’t possibly understand the sudden love I have for my 4,200 pound gas guzzler–oddly, my PT Cruiser’s gas mileage was only a few MPG better… And she has Satellite radio. Last weekend I took a road trip to from Illinois to Texas to see Seether and Papa Roach in concert and had plenty of time to pass semi’s going 120 MPH (what? no, I didn’t do that. Or did I?) and enjoy some new hard rock songs on Octane.

Which finally brings me to the point of this post. Octane plays the hell out of this song. And EVERY TIME it comes on, I’m like, Oh, Linkin Park has a new song out. Love me some Linkin Park. After a few seconds, I realize it isn’t Linkin Park. Who is this? Limp Bizkit? Gotta be Limp Bizkit. Rocking out to some Limp Bizkit. It’s not Limp Bizkit either. It’s Thousand Foot Krutch.

minion-whaaaat

Am I the only one who thinks this sounds like Linkin Park and/or Limp Bizkit?

And it’s not that I’ve thought that once. I go through this Linkin Park, no Limp Bizkit, WHO the fuck is this? Thousand Foot Krutch REALLY? process every time this song comes on.

But it does rock.

I do the same thing with their remake of Courtesy Call. I’m like WOO HOO Framing Hanely did a new remake. I love their remake of “Lollipop”. What? This isn’t Framing Hanely? It’s Thousand Foot Krutch?

minion-whaaaat

So from now on, if a new song comes on the radio that I’m rocking out to, I’m going to automatically assume it’s Thousand Foot Krutch.

Off to iTunes to purchase some new Linkin Park, Limp Bizkit, Framing Hanley, or maybe just some Thousand Foot Krutch songs.

121026buzztracktfk

Hope you have a rocking Monday.